UNIVERSITY GOVERNMENT

McGill University is a corporation created by a Royal Charter granted by the Crown of the United Kingdom, a general supervisory power being retained by the Crown and exercised through the Governor General as Visitor.

The Governors of the University constitute the Royal Institution for the Advancement of Learning, a corporation existing under the laws of the Province of Quebec. In them is vested the management of finances, the appointment of professors, and other duties. Twelve of the governors are elected by the Board from amongst those nominated by its Nominating, Governance and Ethics Committee; three are elected by the Alumni Association; two are elected by the Senate from amongst its members; two are elected by the full-time administrative and support staff from amongst its members; two are elected by the full-time academic staff; and two are elected by students from amongst the student body. The Board elects the Chancellor of the University and also, from amongst its members, a chair to preside at its meetings. The Chancellor and the President are ex officio members.

The Chancellor is presiding officer of Convocation and of joint sessions of the Board of Governors and the Senate.

The Chair of the Board of Governors is President of the Royal Institution for the Advancement of Learning.

The President and Vice-Chancellor is the chief executive officer of the University, appointed by the Board of Governors after consultation with a statutory committee. The President is, ex officio, Chair of the Senate.

The Senate is the highest academic authority of the University and has control over admission, courses of study, discipline, and degrees. The regulations of Senate are executed by the various faculties and schools, which also carry primary responsibility for the educational work of the University.

Board of Governors The Visitor

1110 (101001	
Name	Title
Her Excellency the Right	Administrator of the Government
Honourable Mary Simon;	of Canada
C.C., C.M.M., C.O.M., O.Q.,	
C.D., Governor General and	
Commander-in-Chief of Canada	

Board of Governors

Name	Title
Maryse Bertrand	Chair
Deep Saini	President and Vice-Chancellor
John McCall MacBain	Chancellor

Members

Arun Bajaj Maryse Bertrand Bertrand Cesvet Gregory David Alan Desnoyers
Lucy Gilbert
Fred Headon
Inez Jabalpurwala
Victoria Kaspi
Kit Malo
Pierre Matuszewski
Maarika Paul
Adrienne Piggott
Diletta Prando
David Reckziegel
Petra Rohrbach
Samira Sakhia
Jonathan Sigler
Edith A. Zorychta

Ariel Deckelbaum

Student Representatives

Students' Society of McGill (1)
Post-Graduate Students' Society of McGill (1)
Observers ("voice but no vote"):
McGill Association of Continuing Education Students (1)
Macdonald Campus Students' Society (1)

Senate Ex-Officio

- · The Chancellor
- · The Chair of the Board of Governors
- · The President and Vice-Chancellor
- · The Provost, Deputy Provost, and the vice-presidents
- · The deans of faculties
- · The Dean of Continuing Studies
- · The Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
- · The Dean of Students
- · The Dean/Director of Libraries
- The University Registrar and Executive Director of Enrolment Services
- · The Director of Teaching and Learning Services

Elected Members

- 65 members elected by the faculties, the University libraries, the Board of Governors, and administrative and support staff
- · 21 Student Members