ADMISSIONS: ENTRANCE SCHOLARSHIPS

For more information, contact admissions.med@mcgill.ca.

Anjna and Jogindar Majhail Scholarship

Established in 2004 by Anjna Majhail, M.S.W.'72, in memory of her late husband Jogindar Majhail. Awarded by the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences' Scholarship Committee to an outstanding student entering first year Medicine who demonstrates academic excellence. The scholarship is renewable for three years provided the holder maintains satisfactory academic standing.

Value: minimum \$5,000.

Class of Medicine 1985 Entrance Scholarship

Established in 2011 by the Class of Medicine 1985. Awarded, based on consideration of applicant's admissions file and submission of an invited supplemental essay, by the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences to incoming students in the M.D.,C.M. program. Recipients will be selected by the "Widening Participation Committee" whose mandate is to promote diversity and equity in the classroom.

Value: varies.

David F. Claxton Entrance Scholarship

Established in 2011 by Amy Claxton, in honour of her husband, David Claxton, M.D.,C.M.'78. Dr. Claxton's family has a long unbroken history of McGill graduates stretching back four generations in both Medicine and Law. The David F. Claxton entrance scholarship is awarded to an outstanding undergraduate student entering the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences on the basis of academic merit.

Value: varies.

Deschesnes-Yee Class of Medicine 1990 Entrance Scholarship

Established in 2016 by the Class of Medicine 1990 on the occasion of their 25th anniversary reunion and in memory of their classmates Dimitrios Deschesnes, M.D.,C.M.'90 and Herman Yee, M.D.,C.M.'90. Awarded by the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences' Scholarships Committee on the basis of academic merit to students entering the M.D.,C.M. program.

Value: varies.

Dr. Graham Sommer International Scholarships in Medicine

Established in 2006 by Dr. Graham Sommer, M.D.,C.M.'72. Awarded by the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences to outstanding international students entering the M.D.,C.M. program in the Faculty. While academic standing is of primary importance, consideration will also be given to leadership in extracurricular and community activities.

Estimated value: \$15,000; renewable.

Dr. John G. Cassils Major Entrance Scholarship

Established in 2015 by Dr. John G. Cassils, B.Sc.'61, M.D.'66 (University of Alberta) for one or more students in the M.D.,C.M. program from indigenous communities in Canada on the basis of academic merit. Preference will be given to students of First Nations, Inuit, or Métis heritage. Awarded by the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences' Scholarships Committee on the recommendation of the Office of Admissions.

Value: varies.

Dr. John H. Burgess Distinguished Scholarship

Established in 2011 by John H Burgess, B.Sc.'54, M.D.,C.M.'58. Awarded by the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences to one or more students from indigenous communities in Canada on the basis of academic merit, with preference given to students of Inuit, Métis, or First Nations heritage or to one or more students nominated by the "Widening Participation Committee" that attends to diversity and equity in recruitment and admission to Medicine at McGill University. For over three decades, Dr. Burgess demonstrated his commitment to serving the Inuit in Canada's North as a consulting cardiologist. Dr. Burgess wishes to continue his legacy of service by supporting the training of future physicians from underserved regions in Canada.

Value: varies. May be renewed.

Ewa Sidorowicz and Edgar Guntermann Scholarship

Established in 2023 by Ewa Sidorowicz, M.D.,C.M., 1981. Awarded by the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences on the basis of academic merit to one or more students entering the M.D.,C.M. program at the faculty. Preference will be given to students facing systemic barriers to education.

Value: Varies.

The Frederick Penton Loftus Lane Scholarship

Established in 2010 through the generous bequest of Esther M.E. Lane, in memory of her late husband, Frederick Penton Loftus Lane. Awarded on the basis of academic merit by the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences to distinguished Canadian students entering the M.D.,C.M. program in the faculty.

Value: varies.

James Moses and Stella Frosst Alexander Scholarships

Established in 1992 to honour James Moses Alexander, a distinguished graduate of the Faculty of Medicine, McGill University (1934). Three scholarships are available each year for students with outstanding merit entering the four-year undergraduate program in the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences. Awarded by the Faculty's Scholarships Committee and renewable provided the holder maintains an academic standing satisfactory to the Committee.

Value: minimum \$7,000 each.

Jonathan Ballon Scholarships

Established in 1995 through generous gifts from friends and family to honour the memory of Jonathan Ballon, B.A.'47, M.D.'52, a distinguished graduate of McGill. Awarded to outstanding Canadian students entering the four-year Medical degree program or the joint M.D.,C.M. & Ph.D. program. While academic excellence is of primary importance, professionalism, compassion, and demonstrated leadership in athletics or other student activities will be considered. Awarded by the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences' Scholarships Committee and renewable provided the holder maintains an academic standing satisfactory to the Committee.

Minimum value: \$3,000.

Livingstone-Friedman Scholarship in Medicine

Established in 2007 by Professors Sydney Friedman, B.A.'38, M.D.,C.M.'40, M.Sc.'41, Ph.D.'46, and Constance Friedman, B.Sc.'41, M.Sc.'42, Ph.D.'48. Awarded by the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences to a student entering the M.D.,C.M. program; this scholarship is intended to encourage the student's fuller enjoyment of the cultural environment of the University and city.

Estimated value: \$5,000.

Marjorie Hampson Entrance Scholarship

Established in 2010 by Lawrence G. Hampson, B.Sc.'47, M.D.,C.M.'49, M.Sc.'53, Dip.Surgery'55, in memory of his wife Marjorie Hampson. It is awarded to an outstanding undergraduate student entering the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences.

Value: varies.

Medicine and Health Sciences Faculty Entrance Scholarship

Established through the generous donations of graduates and friends of McGill University's Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, for distinguished students entering the McGill four-year undergraduate program.

Value: \$5000.

T.F. Rose Entrance Scholarship

Established in 2010 through the generous bequest of Sylvia Rose, honouring the wishes of her late husband, T.F. Rose, M.D.,C.M.'43, for outstanding undergraduate students entering the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences. Awarded on the basis of academic merit by the Faculty.

Value: varies.